Receiver reset

Discussion in 'Home Theater and Stereo' started by chad, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. chad

    chad Well-Known Member Top Poster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    20,497
    Likes Received:
    30
    So last year after moving to Florida and spending a few months in storage my receiver developed a... Quirk. I posted about it but it just kind of worked its self out and stopped one day.

    The past few weeks it developed a new quirk. After being off all night it was becoming non responsive when I'd select an HDMI input. Well, it would change to the input but no signal. I only have 2 sources (PS3 and AppleTv) so I'd toggle between the two inputs 2 or 3 times and the image would finally appear. Then it became anytime the receiver was turned off, not just after 6-8 hours.

    This morning it just didn't want to lock on until after a few toggles.

    I had to take my mother-in-law to the airport so I had some time to research while waiting and found that it had been somewhat of a common issue and most say a receiver reset cured the issue.

    So I came home, wrote down all l my settings (and by wrote I mean entered into my phones note pad) and then on with the reset.

    Once I turned it back on it immediately locked onto the input (yay) and I plugged in all of my settings.

    I turned on some music and it would appear new life has been breathed into the system. I had just gotten used to the tone it gave me but resetting it seems to have done some happy voodoo to it.

    So, I'm happy with the 8 minutes of work I invested into the task.


    FYI - nothing changed. I didn't have to disconnect anything, remove anything, move anything etc. Just pressed a few buttons together and it did the rest.
     
  2. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Active Member Top Poster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad voodoo worked!
     
  3. chad

    chad Well-Known Member Top Poster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    20,497
    Likes Received:
    30
    Not as glad as me! I can't imagine going back to my old one that currently collects dust in the bedroom as a main unit and I can't spend money until after the holidays.
     
  4. Mike B

    Mike B Well-Known Member Donor Top Poster

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16,702
    Likes Received:
    426
    Good for you! Yeah, it's bits got scrambled by the FL humidity no doubt.

    Ya gotta love it when a reboot works - :)
     
  5. chad

    chad Well-Known Member Top Poster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    20,497
    Likes Received:
    30
    Good news! Got up this morning, decided to watch some 30 Rock (which I can't decide if I like or not) and the Onkyo locked onto the signal from AppleTv right away. No hiccups no quirks, it just worked.
     
  6. Tom R S 4

    Tom R S 4 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm glad this appears to have solved the issue, Chad!
     
  7. Carl V

    Carl V Bronze Member Donor Top Poster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,434
    Likes Received:
    652
    30 rock....yeah sure, you were watching BARNEY reruns...admit it!
     

Share This Page