Sony XBR 900E 65"

Discussion in 'Home Theater and Stereo' started by Michael M, Apr 9, 2018.

1. Michael M

Michael M Active Member

Let me just start out by saying MAN I LOVE THIS TV!!!! I picked it up last September. I had a Samsung plasma that crapped out on me.
    The Sony is 4k of course. I have the Sony X800 4k player to go with it. Like many of you, I'm such a tweaker I played and played with settings. I'd read about some settings, I'd give it a try. On the Sony XBR page on FB, someone sent me their calibrated settings. They were some really good tweaks. I'm a color matcher by trade (25 yrs) so I think I have a decent eye.
    One thing that surprised me was how incredible regular blu-rays looks. I was like DAMN!! 4K movies? Yep, they are incredible too. But IMO, some I've seen are no better than blu-ray.
    The one downside to such a great set is the same with a great audio system. It can be too revealing!! A bad picture can look really bad. LOL Right now I'm watching 'The Last of the Mohicans' I recorded on DTV. I was on BBC America. It's watchable because I love this movie.
    Netflix 4K is great. Not incredible in my opinion, but a great picture especially since it's a streaming service. Same goes for Hulu and Amazon. I don't watch close enough or care enough to compare each streaming service.
    Now toss in BR 4K versions of BR2049 or Passengers just to name a couple and I think the picture has to be better than any movie theater I've been in.